Motivational and inspirational podcasts

Other than when I’m training in the gym, I have never listened to a lot of music. I don’t hate music but neither do I particularly enjoy it.

If I do turn on the radio, especially during prime time, I seem to be bombarded with pointless drivel from radio jocks. They either seem to be trying desperately hard to be humorous or are overly opinionated on a subject. The subject in the later normally being politics, which is about as interesting to me as…well, nothing is less interesting to me to be honest.

Anyway, going back a good many years, I was excited to purchase a car that had a CD player. This wasn’t exactly new technology but I had only had tape decks in my cars up to that point. Again though, as I’m not a strong music follower, I didn’t get a lot of use from it. But I thought it was cool to have one.

I came home one night from a night of binge drinking and was flicking channels. I came across a Anthony Robbins infomercial. I was home alone, drunk for the umpteenth Friday night in a row and I was feeling sorry for myself. The infomercial sparked me up. Robbins was upbeat, powerful and made promises that his collection of CD’s would change my life. It was relatively pricey but I thought I needed to do something. I called up the number on the screen and thankfully the operator could interpret my drunken ramblings and I ordered the box set of CD’s.

Tony Robbins’ became the only channel on my car radio. For the next year, I played his CD’s repeatedly whenever I was on the road. I can’t say that I was immediately successful, however, my motivation increased enormously and I took some positive steps in my life and career. Some didn’t work out exactly as I would hope but on the whole, I started to move in a better direction.

Move forward a lot of years. CD’s are pretty much a thing of the past. Radio jocks are still just as irritating and pointless. Podcasts have become very popular. To be fair, I’m a little late to the game with podcasts but once I started listening to them, I became hooked. Here was a source of education and information that was free! My favourite price is always free.

As with my Anthony Robbins CD’s, I listen to the podcasts constantly when I’m driving somewhere. Even I’m only in the car for 20 minutes, that is still 20 minutes that I can absorb new information.

I primarily listen to podcasts that motivate me and inspire me. Some of my current favourites are the following:

How I built this

https://itunes.apple.com/au/podcast/how-i-built-this/id1150510297?mt=2

This podcast provides interviews with successful entrepreneurs that have built success from very little. Very insightful podcast on how successful people think and how they overcome challenges and failures to take their enterprises to the next level.

Million Dollar Agent

https://itunes.apple.com/au/podcast/million-dollar-agent/id761649354?mt=2

This channel is dedicated to educating real estate agents on how to make them, as the title suggests, million dollar agents. The occasional episode in very specific to the business but the majority provide useful lessons on how to succeed in any work environment. There is a nice interraction between the 3 hosts that makes the information entertaining as well as informative.

The Tim Ferriss Show

https://itunes.apple.com/au/podcast/the-tim-ferriss-show/id863897795?mt=2

This one can be a bit hit and miss for me. Ferriss does tend to go on excessively at times about his own experiences and his questions can be convoluted. He also can miss the opportunity to follow a particularly interesting point of discussion. However, he does asks questions that can bring forward very in depth responses. Ferriss interviews all manner of successful people, from entrepreneurs, actors and high achievers in sport.

There are many more podcasts out there that provide great information and give you more quality to your downtime. You might find that other podcasts resonate better with you. There are definitely some very successful podcast channels with similar threads as above that just didn’t connect with me but may do for you. Try a few and see.

These ones that I have recommended are ones that work for me. I listen to them at any opportunity before work or gym to lift me up for the challenge of the day ahead.



 

Author: The Frugal Batchelor

Hi, my name is Scott. Batchelor by situation, not by practices. Used as a means to indicate that I am approaching my blog from a single persons perspective and any successes or mistakes will be the choices I make. Live with my cat Minty. Finding the days becoming very samey. Looking for the next step in my way through early retirement to Thailand. Don't have the money to do it and don't know where it will come from. Passion and commitment will find me the way.

Leave a comment